Curly Hair Routine

My curly hair routine has changed quite a bit. The biggest change being that I try not to straighten my hair. While I do find straight hair very lovely, straightening curly hair can ruin the curl pattern so I do my best to refrain.

Moisturizing is the biggest element in beautiful curls. Frizz simply means your hair is thirsty and the trick in having little to no frizz begins with the wash and using the right shampoo and conditioner sets the tone for the styling.

shea moisture products.png

Shea Moisture is one of my favorite brands. I use their  shampoo once every two weeks. Yes! I said it. I shampoo my hair every two weeks. However, I do co-wash every three days. What is co-washing? It is simply washing your hair with conditioner. The act of scrubbing your scalp with your fingers is what gets rid of the build up so don’t worry about not cleansing with shampoo every wash day. For the best prices, purchase these from Walmart, Target, or your local pharmacy.

suave.jpg

 

My favorite conditioner is Suave Naturals Coconut Conditioner.

 

I buy this in bulk and it is very inexpensive! It can be found at any supermarket, pharmacy, Walmart, and Target. It’s natural with no harsh chemicals and smells amazing! When washing, be sure to make your last rinse with cold water to prevent frizz and leaving a bit of conditioner in. When drying your hair, you should always use a cotton shirt, satin scarf, or a microfiber towel. This will also prevent frizz and won’t soak up all the moisture.

Now for the styling products! Using Suave as my leave-in, I have also discovered this amazing product as my curling cream, Miss Jessie’s Pillow Soft Curls. This product is a bit pricy for just 8.5 ounces but it is absolutely fabulous! It really helps shape beautiful bouncy curls. To get the best price, shop this items on Amazon Prime. Depending on your hair type, generously apply by finger raking the cream throughout your hair and scrunch.

pillow soft.jpg

 

The smell is almost like fabric softener! No lie! 🙂 It’s not overwhelming but it does last all day, leaving your hair smelling refreshingly clean!

To lock in the moisture and ensure the best hold for lovely curls, It is important to get your hands on a great styling gel.

Deva Curl Ultra Defining Gel is my absolute favorite. It’s my holy grail to sealing in moisture and beautiful hold all day.

deva-gel

 

I apply a generous amount all throughout my hair also by raking it through and scrunching. When finished, scrunching with a cotton T or scarf to get rid of excess product before drying helps. I know a lot of ladies like to air dry but I simply do not have the patience. My hair always takes about four hours to dry so diffusing with low heat and low blow works best for me. It takes me about 20-25 mins to completely dry. Deva curl gel creates a hard cast to lock in all the moisture. I take about a dime size amount of coconut oil when I break the gel cast by scrunching and gently shaking my hair out at the crown while my hair is flipped over. It creates really nice volume and once the cast is broken it releases gorgeous curls without white flakes. This gel is sold at Ulta, selected salons, and online. For the best price I also purchase this on Amazon Prime in the largest bottle.

Below is my first day hair 🙂 I washed and styled my hair before bed. To protect my hair while sleeping, I pile my hair at my crown and tie it once in a loose bun so it doesn’t mess with the pattern, also known as the pineapple. By the time you wake up, it’s all lopsided which is normal. Doing this also creates nice volume and if you find any straight pieces or frizzy parts, just refreshen by adding water and scrunching. This reactivates the product in your hair. Unless you have hair that is very dense, then adding more product really isn’t necessary as this will only weigh your hair down. Adding a bit of coconut oil also helps calm those stray hairs.

 

 

Below is my hair the next morning. 🙂 Second day hair.

day-after-hair

Here is my third day hair after adding a bit of water and letting it air dry.

curly-hair

Visibly there is a bit of frizz but I really don’t mind it much.

 This is my fourth day hair. Right after an hour of cardio. It’s sweaty and weighed down completely. Definitely the perfect time for a wash.

4th-day-hair

This is when the messy bun comes in handy 🙂

up do-messy.jpg

So, this is it my friends! My curly hair routine. I hope this was helpful and if anyone has any Q’s for me, please leave a comment below or reach out to me by following my other accounts 🙂

xo

© Stephanie Cardozo, 2016. Stephanie Cardozo, All rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “Curly Hair Routine

Leave a Reply

