Writers!!! It’s that time again!!

camp-nano-2015

Camp NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow and I can’t wait! Honestly, I have a TON I’m busy with but who doesn’t, right? If you want to write you need to make time for it and just get it done. What better way to help you through that than joining a community who enjoys the same thing and offer full support in the madness of writing? I’ve made many connections and friendships with other writers who offer great advice and feedback.

So, if you love to write or you want to but don’t know where to start, join me along with thousands of others around the world and we’ll see you through!

http://campnanowrimo.org/

Click the link above and get in on the fun! The writing begins tomorrow and your story NEEDS to be written!!

Now, what do you need to get you through NaNo? Well, really if you want to keep it simple, just grab your computer and start typing! If you’re anything like me, there’s more of a method to the madness 😉 I like to have a writing software that helps me with organizing my plots and characters. I discovered Scrivener last year and fell in love! It makes writing outlines, sub-plots, etc. so simple and you can switch scenes around to fit your liking.

scrivener.jpg

http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.php

Click the link above to get a free trial or take advantage of the discount and download it now! There are some helpful videos on how to use the program as well. 🙂

I also like to have a notebook specifically for taking notes and jotting down ideas that pop in my head throughout the day. My best friend gifted me an adorable notebook and I just added fun stickers and motivational words. I also like to have some pretty colored pens that write nicely, a cute pencil, and some highlighters. 🙂

The notebook is a personal size so I can easily fit it in my purse if I’m on the go. You never know when an idea is going to pop up so ALWAYS be prepared to jot it down!

 

Another handy item I like to have is my kindle or hardcover I am currently reading. It always helps to have books from your favorite authors to inspire you and help spark some ideas. I don’t say this so you can pick up a book and start copying their work to match your own. Simply getting inspiration from great authors and reminding yourself why you decided to become a writer yourself, this will help get the wheels in that other world (your mind 😉 ) turning when they’ve come to a stop.

Something else that works for me is watching favorite scenes from films/ tv shows/ anime, yes! I said anime!! 🙂

Anything that sends you into that deep connection with a certain plot, character, or world will help fuel your creativity!:)

These are just a few of my favorites! Although I don’t write paranormal, I’ve started to dabble in fantasy. Getting out of my head and into my favorite read, anime, show, or movie helps me remember what drives me to write, how the stories pull you in and you develop connections with the characters. 🙂

The great thing about Camp Nano is that YOU choose your word count goal. I chose 20,000 for the last round and will be doing the same this time as well. This is great because you have control of the goal and work that into your day. This will prepare you in your daily writing routine and get you ready to join the real madness in November when 50,000 is the goal.

Coffee. Tea. Need I say more? I need these along with some healthy snacks. Fuel your body with the right things and that beautiful and creative mind of yours will flow with ideas like never before!

 

When in writing mode, I don’t like to stop when the words are flowing so getting up to make a meal might have to wait till later. I like to go for a shake  that has everything I need to fuel my body and replaces a meal. Although, you can also have something simple nearby to grab and munch. Keep it clean! No junk food! 😉 

Some simple and healthy snacks include:

  • Apple slices
  • Grain crackers
  • Grapes
  • Strawberries (or any other berry you prefer 😉 )
  • Nuts (Raw unsalted)
  • Popcorn (Yes, I said popcorn! Hold it though! Don’t go running for your keys just yet! Low cal. unsalted popcorn will do! No extra buttery popcorn…. leave those right on the shelf. 🙂
  • Homemade trail mix! Grab that low cal (unsalted) popcorn and mix with some raw nuts!
  • Veggies! Carrots, broccoli, celery.. these are great snacks to have with a bit of All natural peanut butter, almond butter, hummus, or guacamole

So, there you have it. Your survival guide for camp nano 🙂

its-that-time-again

Please let me know if you’re going to sign up!  🙂

Good Luck!

xo

© Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

8 thoughts on “Writers!!! It’s that time again!!

    • Hey love! Thank you!! We can check in with each other for accountability! Friend me on FB! 😉 start with a low word count goal and go from there. You have great talent and maybe you can extend one of the stories you have posted on your blog 😊 I’m going for 20,000 words so that’s a little over 600 words a day in order for me to meet it at the end of the thirty days.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Winner Goodies!! | Stephanie Cardozo

  2. Pingback: Writing 101: A Space To Write | Stephanie Cardozo

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2015 | Stephanie Cardozo

Leave a Reply

