Sober Lovin’

party-lights

My phone rang for the tenth time in the last five minutes and I didn’t need to read the caller ID to know it was Jenny. “Can you please let me get ready? What the hell do you wear to a Luau anyway?” I asked with more frustration as I looked around at my entire wardrobe thrown on my bedroom floor.

“Come on, Raven! Don’t be such a loser! This was the perfect party theme to get tons of hot bodies to my place! It’s summer and I don’t know about you but I can’t wait to swim with some hotties.” She said, giggling like a child in a candy store. I didn’t think I knew anyone more boy crazy than my best friend. I sighed and continued to rummage through the pile on my floor, tossing everything to the other side of the room.

“Jenn, I don’t have anything that’s Hawaiian. What the hell am I gonna do?” I asked, a little panicked now.

“Raven you’re hopeless, ya know that right?”

“Whatever, just tell me you have something I can borrow?”

“Alright, I’ll be right over.”

Twenty minutes later I opened my front door to find Jenny holding up a fuchsia colored strapless dress with black flowers.

“I love it!” I said, taking it from her hand and letting her in.

“You’re the best, Jenn!” I said, giving her a squeeze. I quickly slipped on the dress and was delighted to see how nicely it hugged my chest. The last thing I wanted to worry about was my boobs falling out.

“Well damn, Rave. You look hot!” Jenn said, passing me black sandals.

“Thanks.” I said, twirling in the dress.

“Uh, Jenn? Whose idea was it to have a Luau at night, anyway?” I asked, laughing.

“Texas heat is bad enough during the day, it’s tolerable at night and after lots of fruity drinks. So let’s get the hell out of here. I heard Mike was going to be there.” She nudged my shoulder and started heading towards the door. I sighed, grabbed my clutch and hoped I wouldn’t have to face Mike.

Jenn drove way too fast. The suburban homes flashed by while the music blasted in her Chevy SUV. I couldn’t help but think back to the last time I saw Mike. It was another one of Jenn’s legendary theme parties; only that time it was Lingerie. I remember settling for hip hugging jeans and a lacy bra.

I walked in to Jenn’s place and it was well after everyone had plenty to drink. There were guys dressed in silk robes, top hats, and bedroom slippers, all the while holding plastic chalices to the air, and surrounded by girls in their tiniest garments.

I figured I had to play catch up and walked past everyone and straight to the kitchen. I opted for three shots of Goldschlager and chased it down with an iced cold Budweiser.

I barely had anything to eat so the rush of the buzz was coming quickly and the music sounded sweeter than when I first walked in.

“Hey.” Said an unfamiliar voice. I turned around to find a tall tanned pretty boy smiling down at me. I recognized him right away. Mike Wilson, Nancy’s ex boyfriend and one of the hottest guys in town. He was always at every party and always had Nancy on his arm, except for that night.

Smiling, I said hello and handed him a shot of the golden-flaked liquor. He tossed it back and pulled me to the living room where half naked bodies were swaying left and right. The DJ was playing all the right songs and as Mike wrapped his hands around my waist, he pressed his body against mine as we moved in time with the music. The room seemed to spin with every move and I wished I hadn’t taken so many shots.

Mike pulled my long curls to the side and whispered in my ear. The music was so loud, I wasn’t sure what he said but I smiled anyway. He lead me passed the crowd, passed the kitchen, and finally stopped in front of one of the bedrooms. I was pretty dazed at that point but I knew what his mission was. He opened the door and kicked the couple already occupying the bed out of the room. Surprisingly enough, they gathered their clothes and left.

“Come on, beautiful.” He demanded. I said nothing when he threw me on to the bed and said nothing still when he locked the door and flicked the light off. I knew I shouldn’t have been there with him. I didn’t even know him. He obviously didn’t care about me. I wasn’t sure what emotion I felt more, lust or guilt? The guilt was pulsing through me but once Mike was above me, I no longer had control.

He kissed me hard with intent and wasted no time unbuttoning my jeans and peeling them off. I giggled and kissed him back, wrapping my bare legs around his waist, urging him to continue. The shame of giving myself to someone I barely knew slowly disappeared when I pulled him into me and lost all traces of my sensibility.

It ended as quickly as it began and before I knew it he pecked me on the forehead, pulled up his pants and left the room. Confused and embarrassed, I stumbled over to where my jeans were and jiggled them on. I bent down to find my shoes but I was too drunk and blinded by the darkness of the room. I walked over to the light switch and nearly screamed when I saw a guy passed out on the floor face down in puke.

Sobriety came quick and I just wanted to get out of there. I spotted my shoes by the dresser and bolted out of the room. I headed straight for the nearest bathroom. With my heels in one hand, I locked myself in and stared at my reflection. With tears running down my face, I could only utter one word, “Pathetic.”

“Hello! You okay?” Jenn asked, slapping my arm.

“Uh, yea. I’m good.” We were sitting on Jenn’s driveway.

“Are you sure? You look like you could really use a drink.”

“Yea, I guess I could.” I said, walking behind her, I tried to shake of the memory of the last time I saw Mike all those months ago. The room was colorful with plastic blown up palm trees and fishnets with seashells on the walls. Jenn really outdid herself with the decorations, I thought. I was looking up at the pineapple lanterns when I spotted six feet of gorgeous staring at me.

Looking around the room, positive this beautiful man was looking at someone else, there was no one behind me. I smiled at him and decided now was a good enough time as any to grab a drink.

“Hey, Rave. More people are arriving and heading out back to the pool. Do you want to come?” Asked Jenn.

“No thanks. I think I’ll just hang back and go say hi to Kevin.

“Yea, okay.” She said and walked outside.

I spotted Kevin by the table filled with fresh fruit and bite sized burgers.

“Hi Kev!” I nearly yelled over the music as I gave him a peck on the cheek and shook his boyfriends hand.”

“This is Taylor. Found him at the beach.” Kev winked with a sly smile.

I couldn’t help noticing that guy from before. He was now by the couch chatting up a couple of girls. A sting of jealously came over me as I wished to be one of those girls.

“You know Raven, you could go talk to him.” Said Kevin, giggling with Taylor.

“I don’t know. Who is he anyway?” I asked, eagerly.

“That’s Mark Wilson. He’s Mike Wilson’s twin brother.”

I nearly spit my heart out when I heard those words Mike in his face and I immediately wanted to leave.

“You okay, Rave? Feeling a little shy? Chuckled Kevin.

“No, I’m fine. Just need a drink. It was nice to see you again Kev and nice to meet you Taylor.” I rushed over to the kitchen, poured myself another drink and tossed it back. Out of all the guys here, why did I have to be attracted to Mike’s brother! His twin no less! Oh, the horror hit me and in low places.

I walked out to the front porch and sat on the white cushioned swing. There I sat, looking down at my cup and tossed the liquor out, vowing to myself that I would no longer let myself be consumed by drinking or by lust.

“Mind if I sit?” Asked a male voice. I sighed as I looked up into Mark’s kind face.

“Go ahead.” I said, walking back in to enjoy the rest of the party with a bottle of water at hand.

Author Note: Are you interested in what happens next? Let me know in the comments below! I will post a part two! xo

© Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “Sober Lovin’

Leave a Reply

