Jake & Chloe

jake-and-chloe

The night seemed so much darker, even with the waves of stars above us.

He led me away from the car and gently pulled my trembling hand towards his chest while placing his other hand on the small of my back. Naturally, I leaned in closer and gazed up at his smiling eyes.

 I must have left my voice in the car behind us because the only thing speaking was my body. The language was unfamiliar to me but it only fed to my curiosity. Watching his eyes intently as they looked at my lips, I couldn’t help but quickly look away into the darkness of the park.

“What are we doing here, anyway?” I said, still unable to look at him.

“It’s Shiny Oaks Park.” He said. What a strange name for a park that seemed far too gloomy at night to be anything but.

“Are you scared, Chloe?” He asked, gently turning my face towards his.

“No, should I be?” I asked with more sass than I had intended. He seemed to like that and answered with a smile laced with lust. My eyes lingered on his full lips and I wondered how soon I’d be tasting them.

“Come on, I want to show you the lake.” He began walking, never letting go of my hand and I couldn’t help but wonder if he had brought other girls here. I tried shaking the thought of him with someone else, not wanting to ruin the night. He was here with me after all. I knew what he wanted and I was pretty sure I wanted it too.

The park was so quiet and the night was still. No friendly wind to help the nerves burning within me but I tried to push all that aside and let him guide me through the walls of shrouding trees.

We walked in silence for a few minutes before arriving at a clearing. Further out was a lake so still it seemed fake. It mirrored the night sky and I silently gave him a few points for showing me something so beautiful.

Jake slid his hand up from mine to my elbow, sending my skin on fire as he grabbed hold and led me near the lake. He sat down on the grass and patted the spot beside him.

“Come sit, Chlo.” He said in a low voice. He seemed nervous and I couldn’t imagine why. If anyone should be nervous, it was me. I sat down leaving some space between us but Jake looped his arm around my waist and pulled me close so we were pressed against each other.

“You know, you don’t have to be so tense. I just brought you here so we can talk. No pressure.” He said, looking down at me with kind eyes.

“So, you um– have you ever been here with another girl?” I asked, hoping he didn’t hear the banging in my chest as I spoke.

Laughing, he held me tighter and I had to admit, it felt nice even though my question was still hanging in the air unanswered.

“No way. You’re the first, okay. I come here alone to think sometimes. It’s so peaceful at night and I thought you might like it.” Looking away he started pulling at the grass.

“I’m sorry, I just…. I don’t know why I asked. I don’t want to be just another girl.” I said and started pulling at the grass too.

Grabbing my hand, I looked up at him and any reservations I had suddenly disappeared.

With his other hand he cupped my cheek and I closed my eyes, resting there.

“You’re a lot of things Chloe, but “just another girl” is not one of them.” He said and before I opened my eyes I felt his lips on mine. I somehow lost myself as we deepened our kiss, sending me flying into the sea of stars above us. Jake laid me on the grass and pulled away from my lips.

I exhaled heavily as he looked down at me and suddenly, I began to giggle. My hand shot up to my mouth in embarrassment, feeling like the biggest dork on the planet. I looked away not knowing what else to do.

He lay beside me and I turned to face him while my emotions tried to find balance within me.

“Chloe, I think we should wait for a better time. I don’t think lying outside on the grass is ideal for your first time.” He said, running his fingers through my hair. Although I would have preferred to be lying on a blanket instead of the cold grass, it didn’t seem to bother me when he kissed me. Being so close to him made the cool night feel like a kiss from the sun and I could care less where we were.

“It’s okay, really. I want to.” There was nothing left to say so I pulled him close and everything felt rather perfect. With every touch, every kiss, every movement, he was nothing short of gentle and attentive to every need. I knew then what he had done, what he made me feel, he made me love him.

Our bodies glistening under the light of the moon, as my fingers dug into the ground, I imagined myself floating out of my body. Watching from above, it was beautiful and as we folded into each other, time stopped. There was nothing in the air but the steady sound our breathing.

Rolling over to his side, pulling me close to face him, he planted another kiss on my lips.

“Are you okay?” He asked.

“Yes, I’m good.” I said with a smile. We rested there for a while before getting dressed. My body seemed to shake from excitement as I fumbled with the button to my jeans. Jake was more than helpful when he pushed my hands aside.

“You’re a mess, let me.” He said, laughing.

“Very funny. But thanks.” I said, pulling him in for a kiss.

We rushed back to the car as the night got colder and drove off.

I left that park a different girl and I was glad for it. I didn’t know how things would turn out with me and Jake but I knew we were happy and that was enough… For now, anyway.

© Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

