Kindle vs Hardcover

This is a debate that has gone on ever since the e-book was first introduced. I remember when I first heard about the kindle many years ago, my first reaction was, “No way would I ever give up my hardcovers!”.

Over almost a decade of collecting books, I began toying with the idea of purchasing the e-book and the only reason the thought ever crossed my mind was being able to have my next read in my possession in less than sixty seconds! Although I am a serious sucker for a beautiful cover and the scent of the pages (yep, I’m a total nerd), oh and not to mention the absolute overwhelmingly joyous feeling of walking into a bookstore or library and being surrounded by the endless amount of beautiful words I’ve yet to read! **Sighs heavily**

Yes, I know I am completely obsessed and proud of it!

So, let’s go over the perks of having a Kindle. I already mentioned the number one perk (for me anyhow) in having an e-book is the ability to feed the itch of getting that next amazing read in less than a minute. That is a definite winner in my book! (haha, pun intended)

Another plus is how light the Kindle is versus holding on to a heavy printed version. Portability is another winner in this battle with its lightweight frame. You can easily tuck it away in your purse without adding to the weight, leaving more room for a larger makeup bag! ūüėČ

Let’s talk storage space! Ever wanted a library as big as the one the Beast gifted sweet Belle? Oh yeah! I know every book crazed lover has had that same daydream at some point. If not, here’s an image to reflect on ;).

beauty and the beast library.jpg

Pretty spectacular, right?

Well, imagine having the same amount of books at hand all the time?! The kindle holds thousands of¬†books and you can take them with you anywhere! You also have access to thousands of FREE books! Yes, that’s right! FREE! As well as huge deals on books from $3.99 and lower! When it comes to battery life, it lasts up to a month without having to charge. Let’s admit the truth here fellow book nerds, the Kindle is pretty awesome!

On another note,

Let’s talk hard copies and how amazing it is to hold in your hands, smooth your palms over the beautiful cover art, oh, and did I mention the scent!!! Oh, wait. I did didn’t I?

Gilmore Girls books smell good.png

Okay, let’s get back to it before it gets weird… I really enjoy being surrounded by my collection of books. It makes me smile every time I walk by my large bookshelf and I can’t wait to continue building that collection! That can’t be beat by the Kindle. While I am a Kindle owner, I still and will always continue to buy hardcovers and paperbacks. I like to go back to the enjoyment of holding a book in my hands and storing it away on my shelf.

So, you might be asking yourself, “Who’s the winner here?”

It’s a tie ladies and gentleman. I need both in my life. For the most part, when I buy hard copies I tend to go for the stand alone’s, duets, trilogies, and quartets. If I know it’s going to be a long series then I usually prefer purchasing on the Kindle. Sometimes the price is better and I’ll be able to get the next book immediately.

In my honest opinion, it is necessary to have both options in a book lover’s and a student’s life. So, if you don’t have an e-book already, go and get yourself one! If you just so happen to be an online shopper like me, get your order in now! As there are many ebooks available, I prefer the Kindle by Amazon. I’ve always enjoyed the style of the devices and as an Amazon Prime member, I get prime approved two day guaranteed shipping! There are many benefits and I’m always satisfied with their service.

What do you all think? Ebook or hard copies? I’d love to know your opinions in the comments!

xo

© Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Stephanie Cardozo and Stephanie Cardozo with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

